top of page
Search
  • mvlostintranslation

About me.

  1. Hi!

  2. My name is Maria and I’m an English Literature & American Studies student at the University of Manchester, UK.

  3. This page is an initiative born out of my interest in helping people who are going through the same issues that my family and I went through during our adaptation and moving days.

  4. I have lost count of how many ‘officially translated’ documents I’ve read over the last few years where translation is literal and does not encompass or cater to the needs of the other language. Languages are complex and I believe translation is only effective when it addresses that language’s culture, otherwise it becomes meaningless and often disregarded by employers and institutions. This is particularly the case of translation between Portuguese and English - two languages that differ drastically and that involve two entirely different cultures. So much is lost in translation that I saw but only one solution: to do it myself!

  5. I have also experienced and observed what it is like to move to a foreign country and struggle to grasp and understand the environment that surrounds you; everything is so different and strange it almost alienates you. It is a completely different experience to know what to expect and where to go, what to say - I sure wish I had had that support when I first arrived. Information seems to be scattered around the internet and disclosed in such a difficult and wordy manner that it is hard to understand and process. I’m here to share all necessary information in a way that is straight-forward and concise. We’ll keep it short and simple but fruity nonetheless!

  6. In other words, this is a multifaceted page that not only caters to Portuguese citizens but to anyone in the Portuguese and English-speaking world. Here, you will find:

  7. Portuguese to English translation services

  8. English to Portuguese translation services

  9. Portuguese language lessons

  10. English language lessons

  11. Advice on moving to the UK, finding a job and how to get set up

  12. Information about the many resources available to you in the UK

  13. Amusing and entertaining anecdotes from my own personal experience

  14. All of these services and advice are based on my own personal experience as someone who moved to the UK from Portugal and observed the many struggles and obstacles that my family and friends endured whilst trying to start a new life.

  15. If you need me, please don’t hesitate to message me!


3 views0 comments

Comments


Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page